When Fashion and Nature Collide – Autumn Edition

Autumn Free Printable 8 x 10

Crimson and gold, pumpkin spice, and layered fashion of Autumn are upon us. Pumpkin farms with corn maze fun, black crows, and the anticipation of Halloween. Vivid memories of costume parties, Trick or Treat fun make this time of year extra special.

Welcome to our October edition of When Fashion and Nature Collide. On the third Wednesday of each month, we will post a new collaborative edition. You will see beautiful fashion and accessories styled and modeled by Dominique from 3C Style and original art made by me, Lisa from Lismore Paper that were inspired by Roda now at Indigo Acres Apiary critter pictures and Darren from the Arty Plantsman flower pictures and his original art. For the full feature be sure to visit Dominique, Roda, and Darren.

Halloween Ephemera 1876

Memories is what this conjures. Days of trick or treating with family and friends, picking out just the right costume, and filling that bag full of candy. Visit 3C Style DIY post for a fun way to make your own Halloween fun with my refurbished ephemera. Taking an image from the public domain and making it new again is a great way to get the vintage flair with a modern day edge. Look at these great ideas! Roda’s little black kitten was inspiration for us!

Photo Oct 16, 12 11 19 AMPhoto Oct 16, 12 08 46 AM

The Blackbird

There is so much mystery surrounding a blackbird. Writers love to pour their souls into words on paper, artists paint black feathers with a cast of blue, and fashion mimics the colors and flow of the mysterious creature that calls and cackles a chilling tune. My favorite, The Raven. by Edgar Allan Poe. (published 1845)

“Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary, Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore, While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping, As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.”

This inspires art, fashion, and costume. Speaking of costume, you have to see our team, it was so much fun! I have a total costume crush! Look below at Domenic, she styled this perfectly.

Photo Oct 15, 11 30 51 PM

Orb Spider

When I originally saw this, I emailed Dominique telling her she is a perfect cat woman. Then when I saw the Orb Spider inspired by Roda and heard the back story on these photos (friends having some serious fun in Montreal) I knew what I had to do! Sorry Dominique, I had to turn you yellow, and turn you into an Orb Spider. Thank you kindly for allowing me to let my creativity run with this. The orb spider and spider web was captured beautifully by Roda. I believe Darren captured the original picture of Dominique pointing out the great webs. Doesn’t she make a great superhero!

Photo Oct 14, 8 59 33 AM

Autumn Paper

Inspired by these photos of Dominique, I thought a nice Autumn Paper would be in order. Using ephemera backing, watercolor, and a bit of acrylic I wanted to capture the colors of Autumn. A friendly little spider ventured onto the page.

Photo Oct 15, 11 23 18 PM

Please feel free to download the paper by clicking on the image to save to your device.

Sunflower Paper 8 x 10

It wouldn’t be complete without the four of us dressing up for Halloween!

Photo Oct 15, 11 51 15 PM

The team: Darren Sleep, Dominique Nancy, Roda Shope and Lisa Lawrence.

Hope you enjoyed our October edition of When Fashion and Nature Collide. Our next edition is November 21st.

Happy Halloween!

Much love,
Lisa

 

 

 

60 thoughts on “When Fashion and Nature Collide – Autumn Edition

  1. Beautifully written post and so many gorgeous art pieces. You inspire me many other DIY projects dear friend. Love that we both thought of Edgar Allan Poe for the raven without even speaking to each other about it. You truly are my Sis!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Dee Dee! It was so fun to look at the pictures and hear the stories of your adventures in Montreal. I can just imagine all of you trying to entice the crow closer. It fills my heart and I cannot wait for the next trip! Much love and hugs ❤😘

      Liked by 2 people

  2. wonderful article!!! I’ve been always trying to fit in the nature;-) sadly, I’m not a very trendy person;-) but your pics proove everything’s possible!!!! great work;-) feel free to check up my nature adventures;-) BR Paulina, Poland

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Loved this!! The art and the colours are so beautiful and vibrant, perfect really for this season that has started to get very cold and dark now around here. And you’re so right – Dominique makes a super superhero! Also totally love Poe’s Raven! 😄💕😻🐱

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment