When Life Gives You Lemons – Free Graphic

Looking through the public domain for old images and script for backgrounds is one of my favorite hobbies. I enjoy restoring old pieces that are torn, aged and need recolor, and have water damage.

Even though I love lemons, this morning it seemed as if life had dealt me lemons. This is the coldest day of the year where I live and my furnace decided it wanted to take a break. My hubby and I scrambled at 4 a.m. to warm up the house with electric heaters until daylight, in hopes he could repair it. So to take my mind from the current chill setting in, I began searching for something new to work on. In my current state, I chose this.

The most wonderful thing about this lemon is I stubbled upon this by accident. This is one of my favorite botanical artist Elizabeth Blackwell. This work is from 1739 and needed the background fully removed, slight repairs, and a color enhancement. I will have this printed on antique linen paper to place in my home. Below is a pdf link for you to print if you would like.

Thankfully, by 11 a.m. my furnace is working again. Now, I am hoping it keeps working until the repair person can get here sometime Monday.

For me, this print is a good reminder to be thankful for the things I have because it can be a whole lot worse. A small and impactful life lesson.

For those of you braving the winter cold, keep warm and be safe. For those in a warm climate, can you share some sunshine 🙂

Much love,

Lisa

49 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Lemons – Free Graphic

  1. Just lovely. I love the old botanical prints. I am sorry to hear about your furnace…that really stinks. I’m hoping we don’t lose power here and lose our heat, too. Ah well, it’s still snowing and sleeting, but we don’t have to go out in it so we’re feeling rather grateful for that.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you, Linda! These old prints warm my heart. That darn furnace, thankfully it is still working. Way too cold to be without it. I was watching your area on the news. Stay warm and safe my friend. I hope your power stays on.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I identify totally. It seems the furnace, or the AC, breaks down at the most vulnerable times. Murphy’s Law maybe?

    The fine work you do, as you describe the process, is outstanding to me. It takes great care, eyes of possibly, and patience. Such talent.
    Stay warm. Hugs from here. Alan

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I believe your right. It’s like the AC or the furnace seems to have enough and refuses to budge. I kind of get it 🙂 Thank you, Alan! It does take patience for sure. So many fantastic pieces from the past centuries that can live on a little longer. Hugs to you my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Packing up some sunshine to send your way! Ugh, what a horrible thing to be trying to solve at 4am. Really like how you turned to your art to soldier through! Fingers crossed all will stay well (and warm!) until Monday! Hot chocolate and fleeces for you!

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Engravers back then were just brilliant. My boss was a lover of antiquities and found a stack of very old newspapers for sale somewhere. He bought them knowing that Winslow Homer had created the woodcuts as illustrations in them…

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thank goodness your husband was able to get the heat back on. It seems if there are problems, they always happen at the worst possible time. Love the restored lemon print, it will be beautiful on antique linen paper.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Ooh I felt so sorry for you and your hubby when you told Darren and I what had happened with your furnace. So glad that it is fix now. Love the way you managed to turn the situation in your favor. This lemon artwork restoration is beautifully done, Lisa. Thank you. I’m very tempted to have it print on antique paper, too. I need more walls. xoxo

    Liked by 3 people

  7. So glad you have a handy husband and you got your heat back on!! We had that cold weather too, but thank goodness today almost feels like spring and all that ice melted!! What a beautiful print, it’s inspiring me to get out my pencils and paints, thank you🍋

    Liked by 3 people

  8. I have to say you are an example to all of us -had to make the best of the bad situation. must’ve been very uncomfortable being cold. We had to three days power outages in a blizzard before and the saddest thing was to see the dog shiver… I’m glad that your husband fixed the furnace -hopefully it will be all over soon. It’s cold here too !!! Two down blankets on top of me with wool pajamas – how about that ?! ☀️✨💖✨☀️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment